Revealed: 2020-21 League One fixture list

Sunderland AFC will face Bristol Rovers at the Stadium of Light on the opening day of the 2020-21 Sky Bet League One season.

After opening their campaign with a Carabao Cup and EFL Cup double, the Lads will host the Pirates before travelling to Oxford United for their second third-tier outing on Saturday 19 September.

Phil Parkinson’s side will round off the first month of the campaign at home to Peterborough United, while an action-packed October will see them face Charlton Athletic (A), Blackpool (H), Swindon Town (A), Crewe Alexandra (H), Portsmouth (H), Rochdale (A) and Gillingham (A).

The Black Cats will conclude the campaign on home turf against newly promoted Northampton Town on Saturday 8 May, with their final away game taking place one week earlier at Plymouth Argyle’s Home Park.

A Boxing Day clash at the Stadium of Light against Hull City also awaits, with the Lads ushering in 2021 versus Northampton at Sixfields Stadium on Saturday 2 January.

View the Black Cats’ full provisional 2020-21 Sky Bet League fixture list below…


Sat 12 Sept Bristol Rovers H
Sat 19 Sept Oxford United A
Sat 26 Sept Peterborough United H


Sat 03 Oct Charlton Athletic A
Sat 10 Oct Blackpool H

Sat 17 Oct Swindon Town A
Tue 20 Oct Crewe Alexandra H
Sat 24 Oct Portsmouth H

Tue 27 Oct Rochdale A
Sat 31 Oct Gillingham A


Tue 03 Nov Ipswich Town H
Sat 14 Nov Milton Keynes Dons H

Sat 21 Nov Doncaster Rovers A
Tue 24 Nov Fleetwood Town A


Tue 1 Dec Burton Albion H
Sat 05 Dec Wigan Athletic H

Sat 12 Dec Lincoln City A
Tue 15 Dec AFC Wimbledon H

Sat 19 Dec Shrewsbury Town A
Sat 26 Dec Hull City H

Tue 29 Dec Accrington Stanley A


Sat 02 Jan Northampton Town A
Sat 09 Jan Plymouth Argyle H

Sat 16 Jan AFC Wimbledon A
Sat 23 Jan Shrewsbury Town H

Tue 26 Jan Ipswich Town A
Sat 30 Jan Gillingham H


Sat 06 Feb Milton Keynes Dons A
Sat 13 Feb Doncaster Rovers H

Sat 20 Feb Burton Albion A
Tue 23 Feb Fleetwood Town H

Sat 27 Feb Crewe Alexandra A


Tue 02 Mar Swindon Town H
Sat 06 Mar Rochdale H

Tue 09 Mar Portsmouth A
Sat 13 Mar Wigan Athletic A
Sat 20 Mar Lincoln City H

Sat 27 Mar Bristol Rovers A


Fri 02 Apr Oxford United H
Mon 05 Apr Peterborough United A
Sat 10 Apr Charlton Athletic H

Sat 17 Apr Blackpool A
Tue 20 Apr Hull City A
Sat 24 Apr Accrington Stanley H


Sat 01 May Plymouth Argyle A
Sat 08 May Northampton Town H

Supporters are advised that all of the dates listed are provisional and subject to change as the season unfolds.


Back to top