Team news: Six changes for cup clash

Lee Burge will make his Sunderland debut when the Lads take on Accrington Stanley in the Carabao Cup this evening (KO 7.45pm).

The stopper will be protected by Jordan Willis, Alim Ozturk, who makes his first start of the campaign, Luke O’Nien and Conor McLaughlin.

Grant Leadbitter will partner Max Power in central midfield, while an attacking quartet of Lynden Gooch, Chris Maguire, Marc McNulty and Will Grigg is sure to provide the Stanley backline with plenty to think about.

Likewise, a strong bench includes a wealth of offensive options, with Aiden McGeady and Charlie Wyke in reserve alongside the likes of Elliot Embleton and George Dobson.  

Sunderland: Burge, Willis, Ozturk, O’Nien, C McLaughlin, Power, Leadbitter, Gooch, Maguire, McNulty, Grigg.
J McLaughlin, Wyke, Flanagan, Baldwin, Embleton, Dobson, McGeady.

Brought to you in association with


Back to top