SAFC 3 M'Boro 2

On this day

by Kate Smith

Murphy secures a second season of top-flight football.

2008 - An injury-time Darryl Murphy goal sealed a 3-2 home win over Middlesbrough

1980 - Watford were beaten 5-0 at Roker Park

1913 – The League title was sealed following  a 3-1 win at Bolton Wanderers